NSTA Virtual Conference

Engaging Students in Science: PreK-6


Conference Agenda

A virtual conference is an exciting and convenient way to engage in professional learning. You can log on from anywhere with an internet connection and interact with presenters and educators from across the country.

You will participate in this NSTA virtual conference by joining live web sessions via Blackboard Collaborate. The sessions will feature NSTA Press Authors Peggy Ashbrook, Science Learning in the Early Years: Activities for PreK-2, and Christine Royce, Teaching Science Through Trade Books.

The day will begin with a brief introduction and be followed by two parallel sessions, Ashbrook’s PreK-2 session and Royce’s grades 3-6 session. The day ends with a brief closing session and final survey. After the event, registrants will have access to all the archive recordings.

Wednesday, June 29, 2016
10 a.m. – 1 p.m. ET / 9 a.m. – 12 p.m. CT / 8 a.m. – 11 a.m. MT / 7 a.m. – 10 a.m. PT

Session Type Session Topics and Presenters
Welcome and Introduction
10:00 a.m. ET
9:00 a.m. CT
8:00 a.m. MT
7:00 a.m. PT
Welcome and Introductory Presentation
Presenters: David Evans, NSTA Executive Director
Jennifer Thompson, Chairperson and Director, NSTA Committee on Preschool-Elementary Science Teaching

Collection: All Presentations
Transition time 10:20 a.m. ET / 9:20 a.m. CT / 8:20 a.m.MT / 7:20 a.m. PT
Parallel sessions
10:35 a.m. ET
9:35 a.m. CT
8:35 a.m.MT
7:35 a.m. PT
Peggy Ashbrook, NSTA Press Author
Science Learning in the Early Years: Activities for PreK-2

Engaging in science investigations motivates students to develop and use their early literacy and math skills as they learn about the nature of science and specific science content.

In the first part of this session, participants will build their understanding of the research that calls for teaching our youngest learners to explore scientific ideas. Participants also will become familiar with how young children use science practices in common activities in early childhood PreK-2 programs. In the second part, using photograph slides (and common materials participants may have at hand) they will engage in one activity that can be part of an on-going inquiry into properties of water. Referring to research that calls on early childhood educators to provide time and connect science experiences around a concept or disciplinary core idea, participants will discuss how to extend children’s thinking from a simple “sink or float” activity to an investigation.

Collection: Pre K - 2

Christine Royce, NSTA Press Author
Teaching Science Through Trade Books, Grades 3-6

Integrating science and children’s trade books is one strategy that allows elementary teachers to utilize a popular and engaging medium while at the same time allowing students to have opportunities to explore science topics. Through hands-on explorations and investigations paired with the use of trade books for content, teachers can also meet several curricular outcomes at once.

In the first part of this session, participants will build their understanding for the research behind the reasons to connect science and children’s literature as well as begin to examine activities that integrate science and literature through the 5E model. In the second part, participants will engage in activities that require common household items and explore how the trade book selections can be used as foundational knowledge, to engage students during the activity, or as a resource.

Collection: 3 - 6

10 Minute Break During Parallel sessions 11:20 a.m.ET / 10:20 a.m CT / 9:20 a.m. MT / 8:20 a.m PT
Transition time 12:15 p.m.ET / 11:15 a.m CT / 10:15 a.m. MT / 9:15 a.m PT
Closing Session and Final Survey
12:30 p.m. ET
11:30 a.m. CT
10:30 a.m. MT
9:30 a.m. PT
Presenter: Jennifer Thompson, Chairperson and Director, NSTA Committee on Preschool-Elementary Science Teaching
Adjourn 1:00 p.m. ET / 12:00 p.m. CT / 11:00 a.m. MT / 10:00 a.m. PT
Thank you for attending the conference!

For more information contact webseminars@nsta.org