NSTA Virtual Conference

The Total Solar Eclipse of 2017 - Are You and Your Students Ready for the Sky Event of the Decade?


Conference Agenda

A virtual conference is an exciting and convenient way to engage in professional learning. You can log on from anywhere with an internet connection and interact with presenters and educators from across the country.

You will participate in this NSTA virtual conference by joining live web sessions via Blackboard Collaborate. The sessions will feature NSTA Press authors of the book Solar Science: Exploring Sunspots, Seasons, Eclipses, and More, Andrew Fraknoi and Dennis Schatz.

The conference materials can be found in this collection.

The day will begin with an introduction from NSTA, followed by four sessions including information and activities about eclipses in general, the 2017 total solar eclipse, how to observe the eclipse safely, and the latest in solar science. The day ends with ideas on how your institution can be a community resource and the final survey. After the event, registrants will have access to all the archive recordings.

Saturday, October 15, 2016
10 a.m. – 2 p.m. ET / 9 a.m. – 1 p.m. CT / 8 a.m. – 12 p.m. MT / 7 a.m. – 11 a.m. PT

Session Type Session Topics and Presenters
Welcome and Introduction
10:00 a.m. ET
9:00 a.m. CT
8:00 a.m. MT
7:00 a.m. PT
Welcome and Introductory Presentation

Session 1
The Eclipse of 2017: What, when, and where?
Transition time 10:45 a.m. ET / 9:45 a.m. CT / 8:45 a.m.MT / 7:45 a.m. PT
Session 2
11:00 a.m. ET
10:00 a.m. CT
9:00 a.m.MT
8:00 a.m. PT
Session 2
Hands-on Activities: Getting Ready for the Eclipse!
Transition time 11:45 a.m.ET / 10:45 a.m CT / 9:45 a.m. MT / 8:45 a.m PT
Session 3
11:55 a.m. ET
10:55 a.m. CT
9:55 a.m.MT
8:55 a.m. PT
Session 3
Safety First: Viewing Partial and Total Eclipses
Transition time 12:40 p.m.ET / 11:40 a.m CT / 10:40 a.m. MT / 9:40 a.m PT
Session 4 and Final Survey
12:50 p.m. ET
11:50 a.m. CT
10:50 a.m. MT
9:50 a.m. PT
Session 4
Becoming a Community Resource

Solar Science Update

Final Survey
Adjourn 2:00 p.m. ET / 1:00 p.m. CT / 12:00 p.m. MT / 11:00 a.m. PT
Thank you for attending the conference!

For more information contact webseminars@nsta.org