Next Generation Science Standards
Connecting Literacy and Science with NGSS and Common Core

Event Details and Agenda

In this NSTA virtual conference participants attended a series of live web sessions via Blackboard Collaborate. Each session featured content from content and pedagogical experts and concluded with a live chat discussion among participants.


The day began with an opening general session and be followed by three breakout sessions. Participants came together again for a closing general session. All educators who registered for the virtual conference have access to the archive recordings of all presentations and all resource collections.


Wednesday, August 6, 2014
10 a.m. – 6 p.m. ET / 9 a.m. – 5 p.m. CT / 8 a.m. – 4 p.m. MT / 7 a.m. – 3 p.m. PT

Each presentation concluded with 15 minutes of live chat discussion (except for the opening general session which had 10 minutes of live chat discussion). There was 15 minutes of transition time after each chat discussion to allow participants to login to the next session. An intermission of 35 minutes began at 2:40 pm ET.

Session type Topic and Presenters Session Descriptions
Opening general session
10:00 a.m. ET
9:00 a.m. CT
8:00 a.m. MT
7:00 a.m. PT
Welcome and Introductory Presentation
Juliana Texley, National Science Teachers Association
David Pearson, University of California, Berkeley
Resource Collection
Pearson set the stage for the day by describing the relationship between NGSS and Common Core State Standards for Literacy in Science and Technical Subjects.
Live chat discussion:
11:00 a.m. ET
10:00 a.m. CT
9:00 a.m. MT
8:00 a.m. PT
   
Transition time:
11:10 a.m. ET
10:10 a.m. CT
9:10 a.m. MT
8:10 a.m. PT
   
Breakout A
11:25 a.m. ET
10:25 a.m. CT
9:25 a.m. MT
8:25 a.m. PT
Reading Science
Cynthia Greenleaf, WestEd.
Resource Collection
Greenleaf described how students' experiences reading in science can advance the goals of both the CCSS and the NGSS. The texts of the science world are varied and complex, offering students many opportunities to build language and literacy proficiencies that will support their learning in science and technical subjects and beyond.
  Discourse in Science
Catherine O'Connor, Boston University
Sarah Michaels, Clark University
Resource Collection
O'Connor and Michaels focused on approaches to building productive classroom talk--by teachers and by students--emphasizing the challenges and possibilities of whole class teacher-guided science discussion.
  Writing in Science
Elizabeth Birr Moje, University of Michigan
Resource Collection
Moje focused on writing in science and how having students engage in writing in their science classes can help them clarify their ideas and communicate those ideas to others.
Live chat discussion:
12:40 p.m. ET
11:40 a.m. CT
10:40 a.m. MT
9:40 a.m. PT
   
Transition time:
12:55 p.m. ET
11:55 a.m. CT
10:55 a.m. MT
9:55 a.m. PT
   
Breakout B
1:10 p.m. ET
12:10 p.m. CT
11:10 a.m. MT
10:10 a.m. PT
Connecting Literacy and Science in Elementary School
Kim Stilwell, Blue Springs R-IV School District
Resource Collection
Stilwell shared how using Picture Perfect Science resources are part of the foundation for teachers to successfully connect literacy and science in their districts.
  Connecting Literacy and Science in Middle School
LeeAnn Sutherland, University of Michigan
Resource Collection
Sutherland explored strategies to address all components of literacy (reading, writing, and oral discourse) in ways that support middle schoolers as they learn science content and engage especially in the scientific practices of explanation, argumentation, and communicating information. >
  Connecting Literacy and Science in High School
Mark Windschitl, University of Washington
Resource Collection
Windschitl explored how teachers can support the kinds of explanatory writing by students that is essential for success with the Next Generation Science Standards.
  Connecting Literacy and Science for English Language Learners
Emily Miller and Patricia Venegas, Hawthorne Elementary School
Resource Collection
Miller and Venegas demonstrated how 3-dimensional science learning provides more access for emerging bilingual students, and expanded on teaching practices that enhance ownership of scientific learning and language development for all students.
Live chat discussion:
2:25 p.m. ET
1:25 p.m. CT
12:25 p.m. MT
11:25 a.m. PT
   
Intermission:
2:40 p.m. ET
1:40 p.m. CT
12:40 p.m. MT
11:40 a.m. PT
   
Breakout C (repeat of A)
3:15 p.m. ET
2:15 p.m. CT
1:15 p.m. MT
12:15 p.m. PT
Reading Science
Cynthia Greenleaf, WestEd.
Resource Collection
Greenleaf described how students' experiences reading in science can advance the goals of both the CCSS and the NGSS. The texts of the science world are varied and complex, offering students many opportunities to build language and literacy proficiencies that will support their learning in science and technical subjects and beyond.
  Discourse in Science
Catherine O'Connor, Boston University
Sarah Michaels, Clark University
Resource Collection
O'Connor and Michaels focused on approaches to building productive classroom talk--by teachers and by students--emphasizing the challenges and possibilities of whole class teacher-guided science discussion.
  Writing in Science
Elizabeth Birr Moje, University of Michigan
Resource Collection
Moje focused on writing in science and how having students engage in writing in their science classes can help them clarify their ideas and communicate those ideas to others.
Live chat discussion:
4:30 p.m. ET
3:30 p.m. CT
2:30 p.m. MT
1:30 p.m. PT
   
Transition time:
4:45 p.m. ET
3:45 p.m. CT
2:45 p.m. MT
1:45 p.m. PT
   
Closing general session
5:00 p.m. ET
4:00 p.m. CT
3:00 p.m. MT
2:00 p.m. PT
Panel Presentation
Heidi Schweingruber, National Research Council
David Pearson, University of California, Berkeley
Eric Brunsell, University of Wisconsin, Oshkosh
Betsy O'Day, Hallsville Intermediate School Missouri
Jeremy Peacock, Northeast Georgia RESA
Resource Collection
Schweingruber led a discussion reflecting on the entire day with panelists Eric Brunsell, Jeremy Peacock, P. David Pearson, and Betsy O'Day. The panelists addressed key themes, discussed considerations for the classroom, and responded to questions from the audience.



For more information contact webseminars@nsta.org

NSTA Virtual conference Logo