NSTA Virtual Conference
STEM Today For a Better Tomorrow

Event Details and Agenda

A virtual conference is an exciting and convenient way to engage in professional learning. You can log on from anywhere with an internet connection and interact with presenters and teachers from across the country.

You’ll participate in this NSTA virtual conference by joining a series of live web sessions via Blackboard Collaborate. Each session will feature content from content and pedagogical experts and will conclude with a live chat discussion among participants.

The day will begin with an opening general session and be followed by breakout sessions. Participants will come together again for a general session at the end of the day.

After the event, registrants will have access to the archive recordings of all presentations.

Saturday, April 25, 2015
10 a.m. – 6 p.m. ET / 9 a.m. – 5 p.m. CT / 8 a.m. – 4 p.m. MT / 7 a.m. – 3 p.m. PT

Each presentation will conclude with 10 minutes of live chat discussion. There will be 10 minutes of transition time after each chat discussion to allow participants to login to the next session.

Session type Topic and Presenters Session Descriptions
Opening general session
10:00 a.m. ET
9:00 a.m. CT
8:00 a.m. MT
7:00 a.m. PT
Welcome and Introductory Presentation
Al Byers, National Science Teachers Association
Barrington Irving, Experience Aviation, Inc. and the Flying Classroom

Session Collection
Al Byers Will welcome participants and share introductory remarks on behalf of NSTA.
Barrington Irving Will set the stage for the conference making the case for STEM education as a path for students' pursuit of STEM careers.
Live chat/Q&A
11:00 a.m. ET
10:00 a.m. CT
9:00 a.m.MT
8:00 a.m. PT
Transition time
11:10 a.m.ET
10:10 a.m CT
9:10 a.m. MT
8:10 a.m PT
Breakout A (choose one)
11:20 a.m. ET
10:20 a.m. CT
9:20 a.m MT
8:20 a.m PT
STEM - What Does it Really Look Like in the Classroom?
Brian Crosby, Nevada's Northwestern Regional PD Program for Education

Session Collection
Brian Crosby You’ve heard of STEM, and perhaps know something about it. See what it really looks like. Sample projects will be shown and explained.
Integrating Engineering and Science in Your Classroom
Eric Brunsell, University of Wisconsin Oshkosh

Session Collection
Eric Brunsell Will share activities from articles published in Science Scope and The Science Teacher that reinforce important science content while illustrating a range of STEM skills.
Designing a New STEM Program: A First-Year Guide
Laura Mackay, Ed White Elementary School, TX

Session Collection
Laura Mackay Implementing a STEM program takes many resources. Learn how to structure an Explore Committee, develop curriculum, and recruit external resources to build an effective program.
Live chat/Q&A
12:20 p.m. ET
11:20 a.m. CT
10:20 a.m. MT
9:20 a.m. PT
Transition time
12:30 p.m. ET
11:30 a.m. CT
10:30 a.m. MT
9:30 a.m. PT
Breakout B (choose one)
12:40 p.m. ET
11:40 a.m. CT
10:40 a.m. MT
9:40 a.m. PT
Teaching Science and Engineering Practices in the Elementary Classroom
John Graves, Montana State University Bozeman

Session Collection
John Graves Emphasis will be placed on ready-to-use activities that focus specifically on the NGSS science and engineering practices and their relationship to STEM education.
Blending Science and Engineering Practices in the context of Climate Change
Jeff Thomas, Central Connecticut State University and Marsha Bednarski, Central Connecticut State University

Session Collection
Jeff Thomas and Marsha Bednarski Hear about a two-part professional development module – Mitigating the Effects of Climate Change – that seamlessly blends a science-oriented activity with an engineering-oriented one to address the relevant real-world issue.
Building Effective STEM Partnerships
Adaliz Gonzalez, Inwood Intermediate School, NY and Salvador Fernandez, Inwood Intermediate School, NY

Session Collection
Adaliz Gonzalez and Salvador Fernandez Will share their experiences creating a network of schools that meet regularly to share best teaching practices, discuss STEM lesson planning aligned to CCSS, and conduct inter-school visitations.
Live chat/Q&A
1:40 p.m. ET
12:40 p.m. CT
11:40 a.m. MT
10:40 a.m. PT
Transition time
1:50 p.m. ET
12:50 p.m. CT
11:50 a.m. MT
10:50 a.m. PT
Special Session 1
2:00 p.m. ET
1:00 p.m. CT
12:00 p.m. MT
11:00 a.m. PT
STEM Student Competitions
Acacia McKenna, National Science Teachers Association

Session Collection
Acacia McKenna NSTA offers a variety of STEM student competitions to engage young learners in the pleasures of science beyond the curriculum.
Live chat/Q&A
2:20 p.m. ET
1:20 p.m. CT
12:20 p.m. MT
11:20 a.m. PT
Intermission (Lunch)
2:30 p.m. ET
1:30 p.m. CT
12:30 p.m. MT
11:30 a.m. PT
Special Session 2
3:05 p.m. ET
2:05 p.m. CT
1:05 p.m. MT
12:05 p.m. PT
Louisa Koch, NOAA

Session Collection
NOAA's Office of Education advances the learning of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) through its many programs. Through scientific rigor, cutting-edge research, and integrated education, NOAA is committed to developing and attracting the next generation of scientists who will drive the scientific and technological innovation our country needs to stimulate the economy and create jobs.
Live chat/Q&A
3:35 p.m. ET
2:35 p.m. CT
1:35 p.m. MT
12:35 p.m. PT
Transition time
3:45 p.m. ET
2:45 p.m. CT
1:45 p.m. MT
12:45 p.m. PT
Breakout C (Choose one)
3:55 p.m. ET
2:55 p.m. CT
1:55 p.m. MT
12:55 p.m. PT
Scientific Argumentation Using Online Simulations
Jennifer Regelski, University of South Carolina Aiken and Tracy Cindric, Ohio Resource Center

Session Collection
Jennifer Regelski and Tracy Cindric Using free online simulations as the basis for inquiry, learn how to effectively incorporate argumentation into your instruction.
Strategies for STEM Success
Valerie C. Blackburn, University of Texas Medical Branch

Session Collection
Valerie C. Blackburn Hear about strategies used by the Southeast Regional T-STEM Center to achieve school success. Strategies include Project Based Learning and incorporation 21st century skills.
Models and Approaches to STEM Professional Development
Brenda Wojnowski, WAI Education Solutions and Celestine Pea, National Science Foundation

Session Collection
Brenda Wojnowski and Celestine Pea This session highlights professional development models and approaches used by several states and districts to significantly improve teaching and learning in one or more areas of STEM education. The goal for each model or approach is to develop teachers' and students' knowledge and skills, and, ultimately, to improve student achievement in STEM education.
Live chat/Q&A
4:55 p.m. ET
3:55 p.m. CT
2:55 p.m. MT
1:55 p.m. PT
Transition time
5:05 p.m. ET
4:05 p.m. CT
3:05 p.m. MT
2:05 p.m. PT
Closing general session
5:15 p.m. ET
4:15 p.m. CT
3:15 p.m. MT
2:15 p.m. PT
Hubble Space Telescope – Exploring STEM Connections
James O'Leary, Maryland Science Center

Session Collection
James O’Leary The Hubble Space Telescope has revealed a new and stunningly beautiful universe in its 25 years in Earth orbit. Let’s close the conference by examining the scientific findings and technological challenges of Hubble and enjoying some of the project’s most striking images.

Saturday, April 25, 2015
10 a.m. – 6 p.m. ET / 9 a.m. – 5 p.m. CT / 8 a.m. – 4 p.m. MT / 7 a.m. – 3 p.m. PT

For more information contact webseminars@nsta.org