Atomic Structure

SciPackDigital resources are stored online in your NSTA Library.

SciPacks are self-directed online learning experiences for teachers to enhance their understanding of a particular scientific concept and its related pedagogical implications for student learning. Unlimited expert content help via email and a final assessment both facilitate and document teacher learning.

The Atomic Structure SciPack uses investigative evidence to explore the structure of atoms and the parts that make up atoms. Additionally, this SciPack looks at the forces that hold an atom and an atom’s nucleus together, isotopes, radioactivity, nuclear fusion and fission, and the energy contained in atoms.

Grades
  • Elementary
  • Middle
  • High

Community ActivitySaved in 2454 Libraries

Reviews (58)
  • on Thu Mar 30, 2017 1:43 AM

This Scipack was simple to understand and it included all of the important points of the atomic structure and more. It discussed protons, neutron, electrons, nuclear reactions, nuclear fission, nuclear fusion, chemical reactions and many more. It used lots of simulations and videos for more visuals. It had a few questions after each little section for a review, then a quiz at the end and a final assessment. They were helpful, because they let you know what you need to go over and what you've mastered. I highly recommend this Scipack, because it was very helpful in understanding atomic structure.

Berbara Yousef
Berbara Yousef

  • on Wed Oct 26, 2016 1:43 AM

I'm not going to lie, I was pretty nervous completing this scipack, because I am not the greatest when it comes to this content area. However, I looked at the reviews for this scipack and trusted the judgement of those who completed it. The reviews are honest and true! It really is a great scipack to complete to gain more knowledge about the atomic structure. I feel more confident with what I learned from this, and I am happy that I chose to learn more. This scipack offered interactive simulations, pictures, and videos that will help you get a better understanding of the concepts. I highly recommend Atomic Structure scipack!

Emily Bass
Emily Bass

  • on Sun Oct 09, 2016 9:15 AM

Do not let the title intimidate you! This has been my favorite Scipack of the thirteen that I have completed thus far. The visual models, interactive activities, and clear audio presentation of the material takes a complicated subject and makes it simple to understand. Doing this has motivated me to further study the structure of an atom. This is the first Scipack that I have given a 5 star rating. I definitely recommend increasing your content knowledge by studying and completing Atomic Structure.

John Philpot
John Philpot

  • on Sat Mar 26, 2016 10:19 PM

This SciPack is very well done. It covers the basics of atomic structure in some detail. As a middle school teacher, I found this to be a perfect refresher prior to teaching the material in my class.

Steve  (St. Johns, FL)
Steve (St. Johns, FL)

  • on Wed Feb 11, 2015 11:51 PM

Awesome SciPack with tons of great information. I loved the layout and while currently teaching this in my classroom, I got to add things that I learned too!

Jessica Minton  (Collierville, TN)
Jessica Minton (Collierville, TN)

  • on Wed Aug 27, 2014 12:20 PM

The structure of the SciPacks really help me understand the underlying concepts that surround each topic. Initially, I was unsure how well I'd grasp scientific concepts in a self-paced, online format, but the carefully sequenced topics, interactive activities and simulations, in addition to the explanations work well together to help deepen understanding in the content area. Especially valuable are the pedagogical implications and common student misconceptions. I feel a lot more knowledgeable about a subject after using a SciPack, and I highly recommend SciPacks to anyone needing to learn more about scientific topics!

Naomi Beverly  (Marietta, GA)
Naomi Beverly (Marietta, GA)

  • on Tue Aug 19, 2014 8:11 PM

The structure of the SciPacks really help me understand the underlying concepts that surround each topic. Initially, I was unsure how well I'd grasp scientific concepts in a self-paced, online format, but the carefully sequenced topics, interactive activities and simulations, in addition to the explanations work well together to help deepen understanding. Especially valuable are the pedagogical implications and common student misconceptions. I feel a lot more confident in the areas after using a SciPack, and I highly recommend SciPacks to anyone needing to learn more about scientific topics!

Naomi Beverly  (Marietta, GA)
Naomi Beverly (Marietta, GA)

  • on Sun Oct 20, 2013 9:48 AM

Just used this resource in class last week for my special needs kids and the graphics and interactives really helped!

James Johnson  (Custer City, PA)
James Johnson (Custer City, PA)

  • on Tue Aug 20, 2013 11:02 PM

This resource is very valuable mostly due to the interactive activities which add a new dimension to the textbook presentation in an area that could be a real challenge to present!

James Johnson  (Custer City, PA)
James Johnson (Custer City, PA)

  • on Sat Jul 27, 2013 10:23 PM

Very easy to follow and straight-forward review of atomic structure and forces associated with atoms. The hands-on activity suggestions are great. A wonderful gem is the inclusion of additional resources to help student's overcome misconceptions (in the pedagogical implications section).

Karen W  (Pleasanton, CA)
Karen W (Pleasanton, CA)

  • on Sat Jul 13, 2013 4:35 PM
  • on Tue Jul 02, 2013 12:16 PM

This SciPack did a tremendous job of reviewing the basic concepts of atomic structure. It includes not only easy-to-follow, audio-enhanced content, but also enriching interactive activities that help elaborate the concepts covered in each unit. Since an atom is too small to be seen, the idea of atomic structure can at times be difficult to conceptualize; however, I appreciated the way that the material was presented in manner that was easy to understand and follow. I believe that completing this SciPack will help me do a much better job of teaching the concepts of atomic structure to my 6th grade students. Well done, NSTA!

Elizabeth Vaughn
Elizabeth Vaughn

  • on Sat Jan 12, 2013 9:47 PM

This atomic structure scipack is an excellent resource with a detailed build-up to every concept therein.

Olukayode Banmeke  (Riverdale, MD)
Olukayode Banmeke (Riverdale, MD)

  • on Sat Nov 17, 2012 10:34 AM

You know, a great change in the final assessment would be to show which questions were missed and why. When I mess up an assessment, I go back but it's hit or miss and it would be more productive for me to see what the test maker considered to be the right answer. I wouldn't even mind the second and third chance tests to have some or all different questions to avoid short cuts.

James Johnson  (Custer City, PA)
James Johnson (Custer City, PA)

  • on Sat Oct 27, 2012 11:07 AM

I found the section on subatomic particles, weak force, and strong force the best descriptions and explanations I've ever seen! Really helped me a lot!

James Johnson  (Custer City, PA)
James Johnson (Custer City, PA)

  • on Thu Oct 18, 2012 10:31 PM

This SciPack was very useful for reviewing content related to atomic structure. I particularly like the pedogigical implications section which highlights misconceptions that students often have. This really helps me plan how to address those misconceptions ahead of time.

Rebecca F  (Elizabeth, WV)
Rebecca F (Elizabeth, WV)

  • on Tue Jul 03, 2012 10:17 PM

This SciPack was a great refresher for basic chemistry. It contains the seeds that are needed to understand the structure of an atom and does branch out into related topics.

Lloyd Mann
Lloyd Mann

  • on Sun Jan 29, 2012 8:34 AM

For the money and the fact that this Scipak can be done at home over the course of a year is wonderful. The atomic structure pak does a great job covering many topics about atomic structure.

Kelly  (St. Louis, MO)
Kelly (St. Louis, MO)

  • on Wed Dec 28, 2011 11:09 PM

I was pleasantly surprised at the way the material was presented in this Sci-pack. This being my first Sci-pack experience, I wasn't sure what to expect. The interface was very well thought out and easy to navigate through. The material was concise, yet detailed and presented in a way that was very easy to learn. I even learned some things that I didn't know before and immediately transferred the knowedge in my classroom the next day.

Brandy Stewart
Brandy Stewart

  • on Tue Dec 20, 2011 8:05 PM

I could not believe I have completed this lesson. Great progression. Complex and abstract concepts were made simpler and comprehensible.

Ronaldo Relador  (Bowie, MD)
Ronaldo Relador (Bowie, MD)

  • on Wed Oct 26, 2011 10:24 AM

Great overview of Atoms, their structure, and their role. Great sci-pack.

Nathan T
Nathan T

  • on Sat Oct 22, 2011 11:57 AM

I just completed the Atomic Structure SciPack and it was a good way to refresh my content knowledge for teaching 8th grade physical science standards (for my classes, these are integrated into the Earth Science curriculum) on matter, energy, and atomic structure to my students. It also was useful as a review of absolute and relative dating techniques, and had some great interactive tutorials which made the content very clear and easy to understand.

Joshua  (Saint Paul, MN)
Joshua (Saint Paul, MN)

  • on Wed Sep 21, 2011 4:23 AM

This SciPack investigates the atom with the Science Objects as follows: Investigating the Atom, Properties of Atoms, and Energy in Atoms. This SciPack looks at the structure of the atom, how the components of the atom interact, the forces at work in the atom, and the awesome power that can be realized in splitting or fusing atoms. It is really amazing how familiar something can seem and really there is not the slightest understanding involved. E=mc^2. Simple formula. Strait forward. Two operations. Easy to understand variables. No vectors. No series. No Calculus. 5th graders could work with this formula. You might have some of them scratching their heads over the units, but still, easy. But when this SciPack described the first nuclear blast of 21 kilotons being released from 1 gram of material, I just stared at the picture of the mushroom for a while. Enough power to run the typical American household for more than 2,200 years, released from the mass of less than half a penny. Kind of hard to wrap my mind around, but I understand it enough to know that I did not understand it at all when I only knew what the variables stood for without really seeing. Multiple representations. I want my students to get several perspectives on a situation and be fluent in moving from one to another, like graphs to equations to real world scenarios and back again. I think the more views they can get and be familiar with, the more likely that things will click and they will see and then they own it for future use. If I present varied examples and enlist students who understand a topic to generate additional examples the chances of the light bulb going off increase.

Floyd  (Honolulu, HI)
Floyd (Honolulu, HI)

  • on Sat Jan 29, 2011 10:04 PM

I enjoyed refreshing and learning how they explored the atomic structure. I love science!!!

Nikki T
Nikki T

  • on Wed Jan 19, 2011 1:28 AM
  • on Fri Mar 31, 2017 1:44 PM

I really liked the format of the SciPack. I was able to learn a complex topic such as atomic structure really easily. I also liked the option of listening to the information read aloud. This help me because I have aa audio learner. One down fall of the SciPack is that I could not get the interactive piece to work. I have the most update drive; however, I was still unable to use them.

Katie Campbell
Katie Campbell

  • on Wed Feb 08, 2017 12:24 PM

This SciPack gave concise, but simple information. It covers the basics of the atomic structure in great detail. The interactive activities and videos help to check understanding.

Tori H
Tori H

  • on Wed Feb 08, 2017 12:24 PM

This SciPack gave concise, but simple information. It covers the basics of the atomic structure in great detail. The interactive activities and videos help to check understanding.

Tori H
Tori H

  • on Wed Feb 08, 2017 12:24 PM

This SciPack gave concise, but simple information. It covers the basics of the atomic structure in great detail. The interactive activities and videos help to check understanding.

Tori H
Tori H

  • on Tue Feb 07, 2017 2:44 PM

This SciPack contained simple, but vigorous information. It was definitely a great refresher on the atomic structure.

Tori H
Tori H

  • on Tue Feb 07, 2017 2:42 PM

This SciPack contained simple, but vigorous information. It was definitely a great refresher on the atomic structure.

Tori H
Tori H

  • on Tue Feb 07, 2017 2:42 PM

This SciPack contained simple, but vigorous information. It was definitely a great refresher on the atomic structure.

Tori H
Tori H

  • on Tue Feb 07, 2017 2:42 PM

This SciPack contained simple, but vigorous information. It was definitely a great refresher on the atomic structure.

Tori H
Tori H

  • on Tue Feb 07, 2017 2:42 PM

This SciPack contained simple, but vigorous information. It was definitely a great refresher on the atomic structure.

Tori H
Tori H

  • on Tue Feb 07, 2017 2:42 PM

This SciPack contained simple, but vigorous information. It was definitely a great refresher on the atomic structure.

Tori H
Tori H

  • on Tue Feb 07, 2017 2:41 PM

This SciPack contained simple, but vigorous information. It was definitely a great refresher on the atomic structure.

Tori H
Tori H

  • on Tue Feb 07, 2017 2:41 PM

This SciPack contained simple, but vigorous information. It was definitely a great refresher on the atomic structure.

Tori H
Tori H

  • on Tue Feb 07, 2017 2:41 PM

This SciPack contained simple, but vigorous information. It was definitely a great refresher on the atomic structure.

Tori H
Tori H

  • on Tue Feb 07, 2017 2:41 PM

This SciPack contained simple, but vigorous information. It was definitely a great refresher on the atomic structure.

Tori H
Tori H

  • on Tue Feb 07, 2017 2:41 PM

This SciPack contained simple, but vigorous information. It was definitely a great refresher on the atomic structure.

Tori H
Tori H

  • on Tue Feb 07, 2017 2:41 PM

This SciPack contained simple, but vigorous information. It was definitely a great refresher on the atomic structure.

Tori H
Tori H

  • on Tue Feb 07, 2017 2:41 PM

This SciPack contained simple, but vigorous information. It was definitely a great refresher on the atomic structure.

Tori H
Tori H

  • on Tue Feb 07, 2017 2:41 PM

This SciPack contained simple, but vigorous information. It was definitely a great refresher on the atomic structure.

Tori H
Tori H

  • on Tue Feb 07, 2017 2:41 PM

This SciPack contained simple, but vigorous information. It was definitely a great refresher on the atomic structure.

Tori H
Tori H

  • on Tue Feb 07, 2017 2:41 PM

This SciPack contained simple, but vigorous information. It was definitely a great refresher on the atomic structure.

Tori H
Tori H

  • on Tue Feb 07, 2017 2:41 PM

This SciPack contained simple, but vigorous information. It was definitely a great refresher on the atomic structure.

Tori H
Tori H

  • on Tue Feb 07, 2017 2:41 PM

This SciPack contained simple, but vigorous information. It was definitely a great refresher on the atomic structure.

Tori H
Tori H

  • on Tue Feb 07, 2017 2:41 PM

This SciPack contained simple, but vigorous information. It was definitely a great refresher on the atomic structure.

Tori H
Tori H

  • on Tue Feb 07, 2017 2:41 PM

This SciPack contained simple, but vigorous information. It was definitely a great refresher on the atomic structure.

Tori H
Tori H

  • on Tue Feb 07, 2017 2:41 PM

This SciPack contained simple, but vigorous information. It was definitely a great refresher on the atomic structure.

Tori H
Tori H

  • on Tue Feb 07, 2017 2:41 PM

This SciPack contained simple, but vigorous information. It was definitely a great refresher on the atomic structure.

Tori H
Tori H

  • on Tue Feb 07, 2017 2:41 PM

This SciPack contained simple, but vigorous information. It was definitely a great refresher on the atomic structure.

Tori H
Tori H

  • on Mon Aug 18, 2014 4:03 PM

I love how in depth the lesson is AND how the lesson allows time to check understanding.

Frank Aurigema
Frank Aurigema

  • on Sun Jan 26, 2014 9:43 PM

The atomic structure SciPack had some information that was helpful, but mainly helpful visuals to use in the classroom in the future.

Chelsea  (Denver, CO)
Chelsea (Denver, CO)

  • on Tue Jan 15, 2013 1:03 PM

Really relevant for exploring this topic. Basic information but well explained that would benefit beginnning and experienced teachers.

Yolanda Smith-Evans  (Houston, TX)
Yolanda Smith-Evans (Houston, TX)

  • on Mon Jul 30, 2012 3:24 PM

Easy to follow. Highly recommend this one

kathleen
kathleen

  • on Mon Nov 18, 2013 10:01 PM

great resource for all types and levels of teachers

Jessica Gomez
Jessica Gomez

  • on Wed Dec 28, 2011 9:51 PM

This review was one of the most basic review that I have done thus far and not incredibly helpful. It is a good basic review, but not suggested for those who have a strong physics background.

Julianne Cotta  (Los Angeles, CA)
Julianne Cotta (Los Angeles, CA)


$14.39 - NSTA Members

$17.99 - Nonmembers

Login or Create a Free Account to add this resource to your library.

Share