NSTA Virtual Conference

Engaging Students in Science: PreK-6


Peggy Ashbrook Peggy Ashbrook
Peggy Ashbrook writes the National Science Teachers Association’s Early Years column in Science & Children and companion blog (www.nsta.org/earlyyears), and is the author of Science Learning in the Early Years (NSTA Press) and Science Is Simple (2003, Gryphon House). She began teaching science to young children in her home as a child care provider in 1988. Peggy is active in the National Science Teachers Association (NSTA) and National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC), presenting at local, area, and national conferences. She is a co-facilitator for the NAEYC Early Childhood Science Interest Forum (ECSIF). Currently, Peggy teaches children, mentors teachers in schools, and provides professional development on early childhood science inquiry. Her favorite place is where the worlds of early childhood and science learning overlap.

David Evans David Evans
Dr. David Evans is the executive director of the National Science Teachers Association. From 1993 to 2002, Dr. Evans worked at NOAA, serving the organization in several different capacities, including as the Assistant Administrator for Oceanic & Atmospheric Research. He was a tenured professor of oceanography at the University of Rhode Island and a classroom teacher in Media, Pennsylvania. Dr. Evans holds a Ph.D. in oceanography from the University of Rhode Island and a bachelor's degree in mathematics from the University of Pennsylvania.

Christine Royce Christine Royce
Dr. Christine Anne Royce is a Professor in and Department Chairperson for the Teacher Education Department and co-director for the MAT in STEM education program at Shippensburg University. She is the co-author of the NSTA Press Book titled Teaching Science Through Trade Books which is related to one of her more familiar roles as the co-author for the ”Teaching Through Trade Books Column” in Science and Children. She has served as the NSTA Professional Development Division Director (09-12); District IV Director (06-09); and is currently the NSELA Treasurer (11-present).

Jennifer Thompson Jennifer Thompson
Jennifer Thompson has been a teacher of young children since 1998. She holds a M.Ed. in Early Childhood Education from the University of Alaska Southeast. Jennifer won the Presidential Award for Excellence in Math and Science Teaching in 2006. She completed her National Board Certification in Early Childhood in 2012. Jennifer is currently serving a three-year term as NSTA’s Division Director of Preschool and Elementary Science Teaching. Her passion for advocating best practices in science education and local connections for young children is evident throughout her classroom environment in Juneau, Alaska. Jennifer enjoys encouraging young children to ask questions, problem solve and articulate thinking daily!

For more information contact webseminars@nsta.org