NSTA Virtual Conference

Teaching Controversial Topics in Science


Conference Agenda

A virtual conference is an exciting and convenient way to engage in professional learning. You can log on from anywhere with an internet connection and interact with presenters and educators from across the country.

Saturday, March 3, 2018
10 a.m. – 2 p.m. ET / 9 a.m. – 1 p.m. CT / 8 a.m. – 12 p.m. MT / 7 a.m. – 11 a.m. PT

Session Type Session Topics and Presenters
Welcome/Introduction
10:00 a.m. ET
9:00 a.m. CT
8:00 a.m. MT
7:00 a.m. PT
Opening General Session

Welcome and Introductory Presentation:
Teaching Just Science in the Science Classroom

Presenter: David Evans
Transition time 10:40 a.m.ET / 9:40 a.m CT / 8:40 a.m. MT / 7:40 a.m PT
Session 2
10:55 a.m. ET
9:55 a.m. CT
8:55 a.m.MT
7:55 a.m. PT
Teaching and Learning of Nature of Science through the Use of Controversial Issues in Science
Presenter: Norman Lederman
Transition time 11:50 p.m.ET / 10:50 a.m CT / 9:50 a.m. MT / 8:50 a.m PT
Session 3
12:05 p.m. ET
11:05 p.m. CT
10:05 a.m MT
9:05 a.m PT
Science Denial: Why Is It Increasing? What Can We Do About It?
Presenters: Joseph Levine
Transition time 1:00 p.m.ET / 12:00 a.m CT / 11:00 a.m. MT / 10:00 a.m PT
Session 4
1:15 p.m. ET
12:15 p.m. CT
11:15 a.m MT
10:15 a.m PT
Closing Presentation and Final Survey
A Teacher's Experience with Controversial Topics in the Classroom
Presenter: Cheryl Manning
Adjourn / 2:00 p.m. ET / 1:00 p.m. CT / 12:00 p.m. MT / 11:00 a.m. PT
Thank you for attending the conference!

For more information contact webseminars@nsta.org