National Science Teachers Association
A Framework for K-12 Science Education

Dr. Helen Quinn
Dr. Helen Quinn Helen Quinn is Emerita Professor of Physics at Stanford Linear Accelerator Center where she chaired the department of Particle Physics and Astrophysics. She graduated from Stanford in 1963 and received her Ph.D at Stanford in 1967. Dr. Quinn is an internationally recognized theoretical physicist who holds both the Dirac Medal (from Italy) and the Klein Medal (from Sweden) for her contributions to the field. She is an elected member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the National Academy of Science and the American Philosophical Society. She served as the president of the American Physical Society in 2004. She is an Honorary Officer of the Order of Australia.

In addition to her scholarship in physics, Dr. Quinn has had a long term involvement in science education and in the continuing education of science teachers. She was an active contributor to the California State Science Standards development process. She is Chair of the National Academy’s Board on Science Education (BOSE) . She served as a member of the BOSE study which resulted in the report “Taking Science to School” and is currently leading a committee working to develop a new “Framework for Science Education Standards” that is expected to have national impact on a next generation of science standards and curricula. She co-chairs Stanford’s K-12 Initiative with Professor Kenji Hakuta from the School of Education.

Brett D. Moulding
Brett D. Moulding is director of the Utah Partnership for Effective Science Teaching and Learning, a five-district professional development collaborative. He was the director of curriculum and instruction at the Utah State Office of Education before retiring in 2008. He was the state science education specialist and coordinator of curriculum from 1993 to 2004. He taught chemistry for 20 years at Roy High School in the Weber school district and served as the district science teacher leader for eight years. Moulding received the Governor’s Teacher Recognition Award, the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching, and the Award of Excellence in Government Service from the Governor’s Science and Technology Commission. He served on the Triangle Coalitional Board and the National Assessment of Educational Progress 2009 Framework Planning Committee and was the president of the Council of State Science Supervisors from 2003 to 2006. He has an administrative supervisory certificate from Utah State University; a B.S. in chemistry from the University of Utah, Salt Lake City; and an M.Ed. from Weber State University.

Thomas E. Keller
Thomas E. Keller is a senior program officer with the National Research Council’s Board on Science Education in Washington, D.C. In his current role, Dr. Keller is Co-Director of an NRC study committee that is developing a conceptual framework to guide new science education standards. In 2010, he was the vice president for education at the Biotechnology Institute in Arlington, V.A. At the Institute, he was responsible for planning and implementing state leadership programs and teacher professional development programs including the National Biotechnology Teacher Leader Program. In 2007, while a program officer at the National Research Council, he directed the development of the award-winning Surrounded by Science: Learning Science in Informal Environments. From 1986 to 2007, Dr. Keller held several positions in K-12 education including Director of Secondary Instruction and State Science Supervisor for the Maine Department of Education. He served a term as president of the Council of State Science Supervisors and of the Maine Curriculum Leaders Association. He was a member of the NRC’s Committee on Science Education K-12 (COSE K-12) and the NRC’s National Committee on Science Education Standards and Assessment which produced the National Science Education Standards. Dr. Keller has also served on the National Science Teachers Association board of directors. He has an Ed.D. in science education from the University of Massachusetts, and has experience teaching high school science.

Dr. Francis Q. Eberle
Dr. Francis Q. Eberle Dr. Francis Q. Eberle is the executive director of the National Science Teachers Association (NSTA), the world's largest professional organization representing science educators of all grade levels. Before joining the association’s staff in September 2008, Dr. Eberle served as executive director of the Maine Mathematics and Science Alliance, a nonprofit organization dedicated to improving mathematics and science education in that state.

For more information contact

National Science Teachers Association
Underwritten by NSTA