Natalie Wood
Natalie Wood Natalie Wood is a graduate of Louisiana State University, where she received her Bachelor of Science in Chemical Engineering. Wood has worked as a design engineer at Entergy's River Bend Station nuclear power plant in St. Francisville, Louisiana since 2006. She oversees the modification of existing plant equipment and systems, ensures industry lessons learned are implemented and develops action plans to address plant issues. Wood is also a speaker with the Clean Energy America speaker's bureau, a group of nuclear professional who volunteer their time to discuss nuclear power with the public, and has been featured in national advertising on behalf of the nuclear industry after Fukushima in 2011. She is a member of the North American-Young Generation in Nuclear, the American Nuclear Society and Women in Nuclear. Wood resides in St. Francisville, Louisiana with her husband and two children.

Marv Fertel
Marv Fertel Marv Fertel is president and chief executive officer of the Nuclear Energy Institute. He has 35 years of experience consulting for electric utilities on issues related to designing, siting, licensing and managing both fossil and nuclear plants.

He has worked in executive positions with such organizations as Ebasco, Management Analysis Company and Tenera. In November 1990, he joined the U.S. Council for Energy Awareness as vice president of Technical Programs. With the formation of NEI in 1994, he became NEI's vice president of Nuclear Economics and Fuel Supply.

Mr. Fertel was named senior vice president and chief nuclear officer in 2003. In that role, he was responsible for leading NEI's programs related to ensuring an effective and safety-focused regulatory process. He directed industry wide efforts to ensure adequate security is provided at nuclear power plants and to address generic technical issues related to commercial nuclear facilities.

He also led NEI's activities related to the long-term management of used nuclear fuel, including achieving success in the U.S. government's program for the storage and ultimate disposal of used nuclear fuel.

Mark T. Peters
Mark T. Peters Dr. Mark Peters is the Deputy Laboratory Director for Programs at Argonne National Laboratory (ANL). Responsibilities of his position include management and integration of the Laboratory’s science and technology portfolio, strategic planning, Laboratory Directed Research and Development (LDRD) program, and technology transfer. Duties also include technical support to the DOE Fuel Cycle R&D (FCR&D) Program and he also served as FCR&D National Technical Director for Used Fuel Disposition.

Prior to his current position, Dr. Peters served as the Deputy Associate Laboratory Director for the Energy Sciences and Engineering Directorate. Responsibilities of this position included the management and integration of the Laboratory’s energy R&D portfolio coupled with development of new program opportunities at the Laboratory, and management of the energy-related LDRD program. Duties also included technical support to the DOE Advanced Fuel Cycle Initiative (AFCI) and also served as the AFCI National Campaign Director for Waste Forms.

Selected to serve on a two-year detail to DOE Headquarters in Washington D.C., Dr. Peters worked as a senior technical advisor to the Director of the Office of Civilian Radioactive Waste Management. In a prior position, Dr. Peters was with Los Alamos National Laboratory, where he served as the Yucca Mountain Project (YMP) Science and Engineering Testing Project Manager. In that role, he was responsible for the technical management and integration of science and engineering testing in the laboratory and field on the YMP.

Before joining Los Alamos National Laboratory and the YMP in 1995, Dr. Peters had a research fellowship in geochemistry at the California Institute of Technology where his research focused on trace-element geochemistry. He has authored over 60 scientific publications, and has presented his findings at national and international meetings. Dr. Peters is a member of several professional organizations including the Geological Society of America, where he served as a member of the Committee on Geology and Public Policy. In addition, he is a member of the American Geophysical Union, the Geochemical Society, the Mineralogical Society of America, and the American Nuclear Society (ANS). He was elected recently to serve on the Executive Committee of the ANS Fuel Cycle and Waste Management Division. Dr. Peters’ professional achievements have resulted in his election to Sigma Xi, the Scientific Research Society, as well as Sigma Gamma Epsilon, the Earth Sciences Honorary Society.

Dr. Peters received his Ph.D. in Geophysical Sciences from the University of Chicago and his B.S. in Geology from Auburn University.

Eric Loewen
Eric Loewen Eric Loewen, PhD, is President of the American Nuclear Society and has been an ANS member since 1988. Loewen is chief consulting engineer, Advanced Plants Technology, GE Hitachi Nuclear Energy, in Wilmington, NC. Loewen was the ANS 2005 Congressional Fellow, where he worked in the office of Sen. Chuck Hagel (R., Neb.) and coordinated the Senator’s inclusion of America’s first legislation addressing global climate change policy into the Energy Act of 2005. In November 2009, Esquire profiled Loewen as The Man Who Could End Global Warming (

Dr. Jeff Terry
Dr. Jeff Terry Dr. Jeff Terry is an Associate Professor in the Physics Department at the Illinois Institute of Technology. His research focuses on developing systems that can provide for the energy needs over the next 100 years. Specifically, Terry works to develop materials for use in advanced nuclear plants and solar electrical generation. He utilizes synchrotron radiation techniques to study the electronic and geometric structure of materials. Terry is currently the Chair of the Advanced Test Reactor Users Organization, a group representing the scientists and engineers using the reactor to improve nuclear reactor materials. He received an S. B. degree in Chemistry from the University of Chicago in 1990 and a Ph. D. in Chemical Physics from Stanford University in 1997.

For more information contact

Thank you to our host and to our sponsors for this event: