IPY Logo
  The Fragile Ice


Mark McCaffrey
Mark McCaffrey Mark McCaffrey is associate scientist and science communications specialist at the Cooperative Institute for Research in Environmental Sciences (CIRES), University of Colorado, Boulder.

Mr. McCaffrey has been the co-founder of the Boulder Creek Watershed Initiative and worked with the NOAA Paleoclimatology Program as an education and outreach specialist where he co-developed the Climate TimeLine information tool, and was the lead author of the Abrupt Climate Change Paleo Perspective. He led the development of the Climate Change Collection, a digital library collection of reviewed and annotated resources about natural climate variability and human-induced climate change, coordinated the Poles Together and Integrated Collaborative Education (ICE) workshops to coordinate International Polar Year (IPY) education and outreach efforts, and is a member of the IPY Education, Outreach, and Communications Subcommittee.

Mr. McCaffrey holds a bachelor of arts in Southwest studies from Fort Lewis College in Durango, Colorado, and a master's degree in educational leadership from the University of Northern Colorado.

Dr. Mary Albert
Dr. Mary Albert Dr. Mary Albert is a senior research engineer at the U.S. Army ERDC Cold Regions Research and Engineering Lab in Hanover, New Hampshire. She is also an Adjunct Professor at the Thayer School of Engineering at Dartmouth College. Mary studies heat, mass, and electromagnetic transfer in porous media. She especially enjoys investigations of air-snow transfer on the Greenland and Antarctic ice sheets for ice core interpretation and understanding the impact of photochemical reactions in snow on atmospheric chemistry. She has many seasons of experience in field expeditions in Greenland and Antarctica.

Dr. Albert received her Ph.D. in Applied Mechanics and Engineering Sciences from the University of California San Diego in 1992. She received a B.E. and M.E. in Engineering Sciences from Dartmouth in 1983, and a B.S. in Mathematics from Penn State in 1975. She was the recipient of the Army R&D Award in 1989, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Women in Science Achievement Award in 1996, U.S. Army Commander's Award for Civilian Service in 1999, and many Army EEO, Performance, and Special Act awards. From 2003-2005, Dr. Albert served as Chair of the U.S. National Committee for the International Polar Year, a committee of the National Research Council Polar Research Board.

For more information contact webseminars@nsta.org

Back to Top

Underwritten in part by NSF, NASA, and NOAA.   NSF Logo NASA Logo NOAA Logo