Nature of Light

SciPackDigital resources are stored online in your NSTA Library.

SciPacks are self-directed online learning experiences for teachers to enhance their understanding of a particular scientific concept and its related pedagogical implications for student learning. Unlimited expert content help via email and a final assessment both facilitate and document teacher learning.

The Nature of Light SciPack explains the concept of light as electromagnetic radiation and as waves. It covers the electromagnetic spectrum and the effects of wavelength on the interaction of light with different materials, including some examples of phenomena that can be explained by differences in wavelength. It also covers electromagnetic waves as a form of energy.

Grades
  • Elementary
  • Middle
  • High

Community ActivitySaved in 4246 Libraries

Reviews (21)
  • on Sun Oct 22, 2017 9:46 PM

I thought that I was familiar with this subject, but after taking all the quizzes, I still did not pass the final assessment. I was glad that there was more than one chance and I went through and re-read everything. You really have to take your time to truly understand it all. Great information and interaction.

Scott Way
Scott Way

  • on Wed Feb 22, 2017 2:49 PM

This SciPack was very helpful in learning about the light properties. I would definitely use this to help my future students understand light. The interactive guides were also very helpful.

Grant
Grant

  • on Wed Aug 27, 2014 12:33 PM

The structure of the SciPacks really help me understand the underlying concepts that surround each topic. I had a lot of fear of science before learning about the NSTA Learning Center, and Initially, I was unsure of how well I'd grasp scientific concepts in a self-paced, online format. However, the carefully sequenced topics, interactive activities and simulations, in addition to the voice-over explanations work well together to help deepen my understanding in the content area. Especially valuable are the pedagogical implications and common student misconceptions. I feel a lot more knowledgeable about a subject after using a SciPack, and I highly recommend the nature of Light SciPack to anyone needing to learn more about this topic.

Naomi Beverly  (Marietta, GA)
Naomi Beverly (Marietta, GA)

  • on Wed Jul 23, 2014 8:16 PM

The SciPack provides good information to help solidify learning concepts of light. If you are interested in learning about computer programming, then the section about color will help you better understand computer code.

Susan German  (Hallsville, MO)
Susan German (Hallsville, MO)

  • on Sun Jul 07, 2013 9:29 PM

Even though you may not need all of the information to teach the middle school students, this is great to see the whole picture. The information is delivered in understandable chunks, plus the interactives could be used in the classroom.

Susan German  (Hallsville, MO)
Susan German (Hallsville, MO)

  • on Sat Nov 17, 2012 11:12 AM

You know, a great change in the final assessment would be to show which questions were missed and why. When I mess up an assessment, I go back but it's hit or miss and it would be more productive for me to see what the test maker considered to be the right answer. I wouldn't even mind the second and third chance tests to have some or all different questions to avoid short cuts

James Johnson  (Custer City, PA)
James Johnson (Custer City, PA)

  • on Sat Nov 17, 2012 10:29 AM

I really, really liked this pack and it helped me understand a lot of things "clearer." I saw a LOT of things in this pack that I would love to show on a smart board to my classes. The interactives were great!

James Johnson  (Custer City, PA)
James Johnson (Custer City, PA)

  • on Fri Apr 06, 2012 8:36 PM

The Nature of Light Scipack was a great resource even for someone like myself (who teaches Life Science). The concepts of light (an abiotic factor of an ecosystem) actually filled a gap in my curriculum. The information shared in this scipack was not only informative, it was presented in a way that was interesting and easy to understand. The examples and interactives could be implemented in the Life Science class as well as a Physical Science one.

Rochelle Tamiya
Rochelle Tamiya

  • on Mon Jan 02, 2012 2:12 AM

From theories proposed by Einstein and Planck, to the electromagnetic spectrum, this SciPack offered a wealth of information for a newcomer in the field (I don't teach 'Sound and Light', but I most certainly refer to the electromagnetic spectrum in Astronomy). The information was presented clearly and concisely, and I most certainly highly recommend some of the interactives and graphics/diagrams for use in the science classroom with students.

Lorrie Armfield  (Laurel, MD)
Lorrie Armfield (Laurel, MD)

  • on Wed Dec 28, 2011 11:17 PM

This was, by far, my favorite Sci-pack. It was wonderful to be able to come from a background where I am very familiar on the topic to being introduced to this pedagogy of learning this subject matter and more importantly, how to teach it. It was well thought out, and very well implemented. I especially liked the last object learning how Einstein and Planck came up with their ground-breaking theories!

Brandy Stewart
Brandy Stewart

  • on Tue Sep 20, 2011 8:01 PM

In this SciPack the material focused on Light with the Science Objects as follows: Characteristics of Light, Light As Waves, Light and Color, So, What Is Light? This SciPack covers a lot of ground, from how light behave and how we observe it to the very threshold of Relativity and Quantum Mechanics. These are topics that had intimidated me. I don’t pretend to have any deep, fluent knowledge after completing this SciPack, but I am conversant. I know enough to learn more. I know enough to make some elementary connections to the mathematical tools needed to explore and understand these things. I know enough to give my students a peak at these topics. An introduction in high school math to some of these really big ideas can put them in a place to not be intimidated like I was.

Floyd  (Honolulu, HI)
Floyd (Honolulu, HI)

  • on Sat Jan 29, 2011 6:04 PM

I learned a lot about light and how it works. This is an excellent SciPack

LeRoy A
LeRoy A

  • on Wed Oct 11, 2017 12:50 PM

I thought that this was informative and interesting because of how much light really does affect things in the world. I thought that this has cool activities to try out and use in a classroom as well.

Jane Hiura
Jane Hiura

  • on Wed Oct 11, 2017 12:50 PM

I thought that this was informative and interesting because of how much light really does affect things in the world. I thought that this has cool activities to try out and use in a classroom as well.

Jane Hiura
Jane Hiura

  • on Thu Mar 26, 2015 11:47 AM

This was a great learning resource. I think that there is a lot of information but it could be condensed to make it more understandable but we also are learning the information. Maybe, also give a student more that three opportunities to complete the final test. There is a lot of information to review and students need to gain the correct knowledge but should get more chances to get a good grade on the final. The quizzes throughout helped a lot as well.

Bethany Cumpston
Bethany Cumpston

  • on Thu Feb 14, 2013 10:11 PM

Wow! really helped to clarify concepts except refraction and reflection as a result of angles. Maybe it is just me.

Marlon H. Poole  (Fort Collins, co)
Marlon H. Poole (Fort Collins, co)

  • on Sat Feb 09, 2013 12:54 PM

I have not yet completed this sci pack but thus far has turned out to be quite a challenge. The content is organized well starting from the most simple forms of reflection then moving through ore more complicated forms of light travel. This is a subject I am yet to cover with a class yet, so I have not done any previous learning. It is difficult for me! I will post another review when incomplete the pack.

Jason Ward
Jason Ward

  • on Sat Nov 10, 2012 5:47 PM

I thought that this SciPack provided a good review of the nature of light, if not overly diffiicult. It covers thoroughly the areas you would cover in a high school physics class and some of the concepts would be covered in an atomic structures unit of a high school chemistry class.

Rebecca F  (Elizabeth, WV)
Rebecca F (Elizabeth, WV)

  • on Fri Dec 31, 2010 1:16 AM

The information was good but I think some of the answers are marked incorrectly on some of the questions but it might be me.

Nikki T
Nikki T

  • on Mon Oct 24, 2016 11:39 PM

This is was pretty helpful, but it was kind of hard to understand with all the words. I really did learn more about light and waves. I hope this helps me in the end.

Audrey Hackett
Audrey Hackett

  • on Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:33 PM

This scipack has so much potential in that there is so much content that can be discussed. However the content is so poorly described I can not even complete reading it. There are too few illustrations, and those that do exist are poorly labeled and, therefore, do not provide constructive clarification of content. I am disappointed with this Scipack.

Kelly
Kelly


$14.39 - NSTA Members

$17.99 - Nonmembers

Login or Create a Free Account to add this resource to your library.

Share