NSTA Virtual Conference

The Crosscutting Concepts as Lenses to Explore Phenomena


Conference Agenda

A virtual conference is an exciting and convenient way to engage in professional learning. You can log on from anywhere with an internet connection and interact with presenters and educators from across the country.

Saturday, February 8, 2020
10 am – 2 pm ET / 9 am – 1 pm CT / 8 am – 12 pm MT / 7 am – 11 am PT

Session Type Session Topics and Presenters
Opening General Session
10:00 am ET
9:00 am CT
8:00 am MT
7:00 am PT
NSTA Welcome
NSTA President


Session 1
Crosscutting Concepts: Strengthening Science and Engineering Teaching and Learning
Jeff Nordine
Transition time 11:00 am ET / 10:00 am CT / 9:00 am MT / 8:00 am PT
Parallel Breakout Sessions
11:15 am ET
10:15 am CT
9:15 am MT
8:15 am PT
Session 2a
Crosscutting Concepts in the Life Sciences: Principles for Model-based Reasoning
Charles Anderson

Session 2b
How does the crosscutting concept offer a particular access to sensemaking of earth science?
Emily Miller, Kathy Huncosky, Kevin Kiel

Session 2c
Cross-Cutting Concepts in Physical Science: The versatility of CCCs
Joi Merritt
Transition time 12:50 pm ET / 11:50 am CT / 10:50 am MT / 9:50 am PT
Closing General Session
1:05 pm ET
12:05 pm CT
11:05 am MT
10:05 am PT
Session 3
Making sense of phenomena with crosscutting concepts - perspectives on assessment
Erin Furtak
Adjourn / 2:00 pm ET / 1:00 pm CT / 12:00 pm MT / 11:00 am PT
Thank you for attending the conference!

For more information contact webseminars@nsta.org