NSTA Virtual Conference

Climate Science in the Classroom


Conference Agenda

A virtual conference is an exciting and convenient way to engage in professional learning. You can log on from anywhere with an internet connection and interact with presenters and educators from across the country.

You’ll participate in this NSTA virtual conference by joining a series of live web sessions via Blackboard Collaborate. Each session will feature content and pedagogical experts and will conclude with a live question/answer segment among participants.

The day will begin with a brief introduction and be followed by four sessions related to climate science and classroom-ready resources and instructional ideas. The day ends with brief closing summary comments led by our colleagues from NOAA. After the event, registrants will have access to the archive recordings of all presentations.

Saturday, March 12, 2016
10 a.m. – 3 p.m. ET / 9 a.m. – 2 p.m. CT / 8 a.m. – 1 p.m. MT / 7 a.m. – 12 p.m. PT

Session Type Session Topics and Presenters
Welcome/Introduction and Session 1
10:00 a.m. ET
9:00 a.m. CT
8:00 a.m. MT
7:00 a.m. PT
Welcome and Introductory Presentation
Presenter: David Evans, NSTA

Session 1
Climate Change – What is Happening and How Do We Know?

NGSS Performance Expectations addressed:
MS-ESS3-5 Earth and Human Activity
HS-ESS2-2 Earth’s Systems

Presenters: Katharine Hayhoe, Texas Tech University and Peg Steffen, NOAA

Session 1 Collection
Session 1 Q&A and Survey
11:00 a.m. ET
10:00 a.m. CT
9:00 a.m.MT
8:00 a.m. PT
 
Transition time to Session 2
11:10 a.m.ET
10:10 a.m CT
9:10 a.m. MT
8:10 a.m PT
 
Session 2
11:20 a.m. ET
10:20 a.m. CT
9:20 a.m MT
8:20 a.m PT
Session 2
Climate Modeling/Simulations

NGSS Performance Expectations addressed:
HS-ESS2-2 Earth’s Systems

Presenters:
Keith Dixon, NOAA and Randy Russell, UCAR

Session 2 Collection
Session 2 Q&A and Survey
12:05 p.m. ET
11:05 a.m. CT
10:05 a.m. MT
9:05 a.m. PT
 
Transition time to Session 3
12:15 p.m. ET
11:15 a.m. CT
10:15 a.m. MT
9:15 a.m. PT
 
Session 3
12:35 p.m. ET
11:35 a.m. CT
10:35 a.m. MT
9:35 a.m. PT
Session 3
Impacts of Climate Change: Sea Level Rise

NGSS Performance Expectations addressed:
MS-ESS3-5 Earth and Human Activity
HS-ESS3-5 Earth and Human Activity

Presenters:
Doug Marcy and Bruce Moravchik, NOAA

Session 3 Collection
Session 3 Q&A and Survey
1:20 p.m. ET
12:20 p.m. CT
11:20 a.m. MT
10:20 a.m. PT
 
Transition time to Session 4
1:30 p.m. ET
12:30 p.m. CT
11:30 a.m. MT
10:30 a.m. PT
 
Session 4
1:40 p.m. ET
12:40 p.m. CT
11:40 a.m. MT
10:40 a.m. PT
Session 4
How Can We Mitigate and/or Adapt to the Impacts of Climate Change? Engineering Solutions

NGSS Performance Expectations addressed:
HS-ETS1-1 Engineering Design

Presenters:
Juliette Rooney-Varga, UMass Lowell and Alexander MacDonald, NOAA

Session 4 Collection
Session 4 Q&A and Survey
2:25 p.m. ET
1:25 p.m. CT
12:25 a.m. MT
11:25 a.m. PT
 
Closing Summary Comments and Final Survey
2:35 p.m. ET
1:35 p.m. CT
12:35 p.m. MT
11:35 a.m. PT
Presenters:
Peg Steffen and Frank Niepold, NOAA
Adjourn
3:00 p.m. ET
2:00 p.m. CT
1:00 p.m. MT
12:00 p.m. PT
Thank you for attending the conference!

For more information contact webseminars@nsta.org