NSTA Virtual Conference

Connecting In-school and Out-of-school STEM Learning and Teaching


Conference Agenda

A virtual conference is an exciting and convenient way to engage in professional learning. You can log on from anywhere with an internet connection and interact with presenters and educators from across the country.

Saturday, December 7, 2019
10 am – 2 pm ET / 9 am – 1 pm CT / 8 am – 12 pm MT / 7 am – 11 am PT

Session Type Session Topics and Presenters
Opening General Session
10:00 am ET
9:00 am CT
8:00 am MT
7:00 am PT
NSTA Welcome
Dennis Schatz


Session 1
Making the Case for the Impact of Out-of-School STEM Learning
Dennis Schatz
Transition time 11:00 am ET / 10:00 am CT / 9:00 am MT / 8:00 am PT
Parallel Breakout Sessions
11:15 am ET
10:15 am CT
9:15 am MT
8:15 am PT
Session 2a
Better Together: Bridging the School-Day and Afterschool in a STEM Enrichment Program
Emma Banay and Fran Agnone

Session 2b
Place-based Education: Empowering Youth to Protect Natural Resources In and With Their Community
Brandon Schroeder and Tracy D’Augustino

Session 2c
Scientific Research in the Classroom: Access Free Citizen Science Resources with SciStarter
Caroline Nickerson
Transition time 12:00 pm ET / 11:00 am CT / 10:00 am MT / 9:00 am PT
Parallel Breakout Sessions
12:10 pm ET
11:10 am CT
10:10 am MT
9:10 am PT
Session 3a (repeat of Session 2a)
Better Together: Bridging the School-Day and Afterschool in a STEM Enrichment Program
Emma Banay and Fran Agnone

Session 3b (repeat of Session 2b)
Place-based Education: Empowering Youth to Protect Natural Resources In and With Their Community
Brandon Schroeder and Tracy D’Augustino

Session 3c (repeat of Session 2c)
Scientific Research in the Classroom: Access Free Citizen Science Resources with SciStarter
Caroline Nickerson
Transition time 12:55 pm ET / 11:55 am CT / 10:55 am MT / 9:55 am PT
Closing General Session
1:05 pm ET
12:05 pm CT
11:05 am MT
10:05 am PT
Session 4
America's Strategy for STEM Education
David Evans, NSTA
AND
Closing Remarks & Call to Action
Beth Murphy, NSTA
Adjourn / 2:00 pm ET / 1:00 pm CT / 12:00 pm MT / 11:00 am PT
Thank you for attending the conference!

For more information contact webseminars@nsta.org